“Stereum ostrea” – knitting pattern for a fancy hat

Not all the mushrooms in the forest are edible (like these marvelously colored Stereum Ostrea). Like in Giraffes world,- not all the things are designed for benefit and profit. All sorts of miracles are of most importance to us. We invite them to our lives and let them happen. On a daily basis.
These hats are series of little miracles. When we let fibers, colors and patterns make their magic in our hands. And the result is a hat, not as much an ear warmer, as uplifter of spirits, a little miracle in wool and color. We invite you to make your own!


Abbreviations:

k – knit
M1 – make one new stitch (use any of your favourite methods)
YO – yarn over
SSK – slip two stitches knitwise and knit together
K2tog – knit two stitches together

Recommended yarn:

about 50-60 g of yarns total
Noro Flower Bed
Noro Silk Garden Sock
Noro Silk Garden Lite
Noro Taiyo Sock

Needles:

2.25 mm (1 US)
2.5 mm (1½ USA)


The size of the hat will depend on the choice of yarn and tightness of knitting. If you choose the recommended yarn and knit not too tight the hat should fit for a head with 53-55 cm around.


  • Cast on 100 stitches using 2.25 mm (1 US) needles. Knit in round, use a marker to indicate beg of rnd.
  • Rnd 1: k.
  • Rnd 2: [k 3 stitches (k, p, k) in one, k 3 stitches tog] x 25.
  • Rnds 3-9: k.
  • Rnd 10: [k, M1] x 98, k, k.
  • Rnds 11-15: (change to 2.5 mm (1½ USA) needles) k.
  • (If your crown is high knit several rounds more. The height of the hat should be adjusted before starting the lace section.)
  • Rnd 16: [k, YO, k, YO, k, YO, ssk, ssk, ssk, k2tog, k2tog, k2tog, YO, k, YO, k, YO, k] x 11.
  • Rnds 17-18: k.
  • Repeat rnds 16-18 four times more.
  • Rnd 31: [k, k, k, ssk, ssk, ssk, k2tog, k2tog, k2 tog, k, k, k] x 11.
  • Rnds 32-33: k.
  • Round 34: [k, k, k, ssk, ssk, k2tog, k, k, k] x 11. Rnds
  • 35-36: k.
  • Rnd 37: [k, k, ssk, k, k2tog, k, k] x 11.
  • Rnds 38-39: k.
  • Rnd 40: [k, ssk, k, k2tog, k] x 11
  • Rnds 41-42: k.
  • Rnd 43: [k, k2tog] x 18, k
  • Rnds 44-45: k.
  • Rnd 46: [k, k2tog] x 12, k
  • Rnds 47-48: k.
  • Rnd 49: [k, ssk] x 8, k
  • Rnds 50-51: k.
  • Rnd 52: [k, ssk] x 5, k
  • Rnd 53: k.
  • Pull the yarn through the remaining stitches, weave in all loose ends. Leave the hat to soak for some 20 minutes, then squeeze the excess water and pull the hat over a plate to block. Leave to dry.

 

Giraffes promote creative knitting and resource efficiency; therefore, no downloadable version is or will be available.

 

8 thoughts on ““Stereum ostrea” – knitting pattern for a fancy hat

  1. Oh please don’t stop doing patterns, it really is a beautiful pattern, I think it’s the yarn, taiyo sock is really thin compared to the other noro sock yarns, I am going to try casting on more stitches and see how I go, I will let you know how it turns out, and the one I have made won’t go to waste, I will find a little head for it ;)

  2. Hi, I tried this pattern and enjoyed making it, I used noro taiyo sock yarn and I used 2.75mm needles, but it came out tiny, I mean really tiny, I am an experienced knitter I followed pattern exactly and I am not a tight knitter, I am just wondering what yarn was used in the pics as silk garden sock yarn is a bit thicker than taiyo sock, so I was wondering that maybe that was why there was a difference, it is only big enough to fit a small child, anyway thanks for pattern I am going to fiddle with it to make one big enough for myself!

    1. Dear Sandy,

      Thank you so much for sharing this. I’m really sorry to hear about these too small hats, but I hope that at least you have a kid for this hat you’ve knitted :) Otherwise, that’s really bad.

      The hats in the pictures are knit using Noro Flower Bed and Noro Arale.

      You could CO more stitches for yourself, and make increases not so dense (I mean not K1, M1), may be just K2, M1 or something like this, and leave the crown as it is, as it is really wide enough. I could indicate some different number of CO stitches, but I have no idea how many stitches are needed, I only can make a pattern of what I knit myself. That’s why I should just stick to knitting :)) A lesson has been learnt :)

      I think, I should have shared this pattern in some different way, something like a very general description of how I knit it and people could decide that number of stitches themselves. Anyway, I hope you make one for yourself that is not too small.

      happy knitting :)

  3. I’m not doing it… The pattern is gorgeous but my computer is in my husbands study and it certainly doesn’t come in the car with me. You see, I knit on the go also.

    1. We are sorry to hear about your troubles, but we are sure you will find some other gorgeous patterns and will be able to knit :)
      happy knitting :)

  4. I love the pattern, however, I do not want to be on the computer all day. Do you have this beautiful pattern in a PDF file, so that I can just download and take it with me to complete? Many thanks in advance.

    1. Thank you for your comment Sharon :)
      However, we do not have a PDF version for download.

      We care about environment and we don’t think that this pattern is so complicated that it needs printing out. You may just read it through and make notes for yourself if needed. Happy knitting :)

      1. I love your pattern too!
        But I agree, it is very annoying the way it is displayed; the entire pattern is not viewable at the same time, one has to be on the webpage 100% of the time to knit it. If you just change your formatting so that all the rows are displayed and viewable at the same time that would be a big improvement.
        A PDF is not necessary.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.